Yohan Flande Set To Face Twins Affiliate Thursday

Photo courtesy of Kyle Hess

The first place Gwinnett Braves (27-19) are coming off a 3-5 record on their latest road trip with the off-day on Wednesday. However, first place is the most important aspect the equation and the G-Braves have a three-game lead over the Charlotte Knights. The G-Brvaes begin a stretch of 10 games in their next 10 days from Coolray Field. With 99 games left in the regular season, Gwinnett is indeed approaching the “dog days of summer” in good position.

Gwinnett is boasting both International League Players of the Week for the past week. Pitcher Todd Redmond received the IL Pitcher of the Week award, while Ernesto Mejia walked away with the IL Batter of the Week. Both join teammate Stefan Gartrell as this years G-Braves recipients of the award this season. All three will be looking to shoulder the load as Gwinnett looks to start another impressive streak at home from Coolray Field.

Photo courtesy of Kyle Hess

Rochester Red Wings (19-26, 6th IL North) vs Gwinnett (27-19, 1st IL South) 

The Red Wings are in town for four more games with the G-Braves as they continue their stretch of eight straight games against one another. The two teams split their four-game set in Rochester just days ago.

Monday, May 24 Starting Line-up from Coolray Field in Lawrenceville, Georgia:

G-Braves southpaw Yohan Flande (1-3, 4.46) will make the start for Gwinnett as he will oppose Rochester righty Liam Hendriks (2-0, 1.93) scheduled for a 7:05 p.m. first pitch. Hendriks is ranked the No. 7 prospect in the Minnesota Twins organization according to Baseball America. The game will be broadcast on WDUN 550 AM and 102.9 FM with Tony Schiavone calling the play-by-play.

Photo courtesy of Kyle Hess

Rochester Red Wings Batting Order:

1) Tsuyoshi Nishioka, DH

2) Pedro Florimon, SS

3) Wilkin Ramirez, LF

4) Danny Valencia, 3B

5) Sean Burroughs, 1B

6) Matt Carson, RF

7) Clete Thomas, CF

8) Ray Chang, 2B

9) J.R. Towles, C

G-Braves Batting Order

1) Jose Constanza, LF

2) Luis Durango, CF

3) Stefan Gartrell, RF

4) Ernesto Mejia, 1B

5) Christian Marrero, DH

6) Joey Terdoslavich, 3B

7) Josh Wilson, SS

8) J.C. Boscan, C

9) Lance Zawadski, 2B

By: Tony Piraro

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: